Dear Diary!

There’s been a question disturbing my piece of mind since many days and today I’d like to voice it – WHAT AM I?

Oh I have no doubts about being a girl, 16yrs of age at that, but what I really want to know is AM I an adult or a child?

In the adjoining room, seated in front of the television with a chopping board and a bottle guard in hand is my typical Indian mother who at one instance argues that I’m too young to go over my friend’s place for a harmless party and at the very next instance says that I am old enough to go three kilometers out of the way to the grocery shop to get finely ground white flour – just the way she likes it – for the delicacy she wants to prepare for some distant aunty who’s visiting her after a long time, say about after two days!

She says I should behave lady like and like a tamed young girl – all prim and proper – in front of the society. But, but, but, if I just as much as comment on something they’re all discussing, I’m told to shut up and keep mum like the 16yr old I am. Well, what do you say about that?

Ok, all that is bearable but what happened today surpassed all. You see, next week is my dear Shreya di’s wedding, and don’t ask me who that is coz frankly I’ve met her just twice but obviously it’s a big event as mummy took me out shopping for that. So I am supposed to be dressed traditionally. No issues at that. But trust me; shopping with mum was one hell of a nightmare! Unbelievably disastrous that trip turned out to be!

I chose a Sabyasachi sleeveless fishtail cut peach costume. It was hot I must say. Just as I was about to take it off, I was dragged to check out a down market, yellow and blue lehenga with stupid sequences and bright zari all over it. It’s hard to breathe in with that thing on, leave alone attending the wedding. There were similar war waged over jewelry and sandals and other such stuff.

After this spree, I have no doubts about mum being intent on turning me into Lady Gaga II.

The next intended pun was at the saloon. Is it so out of the ordinary to color one’s hair? I didn’t ask for a ridiculous purple or pink dye but just a streak of rust highlights. But no, Mrs. I-like-you-offended had to intervene! Doesn’t she know there is ammonia free stuff available now? Or does she seriously want me to be in a huff at all times?

Am I allowed to do nothing I like? Am I too old for half the things I enjoy? Am I too young to indulge in activities I find fascinating? Or is it that the statement ‘act you age’ is a punch line for all times for parents who want to save themselves the pain of changing THEIR outlook.

Shouldn’t people update themselves with the changing times? Shouldn’t they try to understand teenagers as they themselves have been through this age? Or am I being too fussy about something adolescents have been facing since time unmemorable.

I don’t know…but I’m not made of moldable soil. I am what I am and always will be. I won’t change myself!

ps: I’m sorry if you were bored coz of my ranting…! And thanks for reading the whole thing!

Love you all ❤

But then mummy says I’m too old to preserve that attitude…

4 thoughts on “Dear Diary!

  1. Maybe…just try to think of it from your mother’s point of view. If that doesn’t help ease your frustration, then try to make her adjust to one thing and then the next. Mothers are scared of losing their children to anything, perhaps even rust highlights. If you assure her that you won’t be led astray and give evidence to back it up, maybe she’ll relax a little.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. GreAt job there .. That was me exactly when I was 16..
    Aaah how i wish to be 16 again.. I have it in my blog a little bit about the similar troubles I faced when I was a teen.. Now I am an adult, living in Canada away for my parents for 4 yeArs.. Independent and working girl.. i still am considered immature.. God save us !!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

