Mother !

I had to share this one! 

It was 12th of November , two thousand something. Glittering earthen pots lit up my house, my neighbors’ house, practically the whole city and more. It seemed as if the sky had been upturned and the twinkling stars had fallen on earth. The occasion was ‘Chotti Diwali’ – as auspicious as a day could be.

My lovely mother, my father and myself had decided to burn firecrackers in the adjacent building – a building under construction, a building that belonged to us, a building that was soon to be lit up by my mother’s efforts and a number of earthen lamps. My sister, being the eco friendly one, had decided to stay back and enjoy the television shows instead.

Everything was nearly perfect. My mother followed my footsteps as I lead her upstairs. She had decided to light up the first floor as my father decided to walk on to the third one. Climbing up the first flight of stairs, beckoning to my mother, I took a 90 degree turn and started ascending the second one. But before I could lose sight of my mother, I saw her walk on straight instead of turning behind me.  I froze in horror as she disappeared in front of my eyes, right into the lift well built. She went down into the void of the well, with the lighted earthen pots filled with oil.

As the horror crept in, chilling me to the bone, the clatter of the fallen plate filled with pots filled my cold ears. I gave a horrified scream of terror. I yelled and yelled till my throat was dry and it hurt. Like needles, my own voice pricked my throat as I kept calling for her. My father rushed to me, leave alone my father – the whole neighborhood had collected near the dark building. Not a voice from my mother was heard. Rushing down I pulled my sister to the site, like a boy gone crazy. I was too worked up to speak. The lower half of the building, where mum had fallen, was filled with pointed nails, wooden pipes and other horrid things.

The worst part was my mother had never uttered a word. Was she ok?

When we finally reached back to the site, me and my sister, I saw my mother seated on a chair, all the neighbors clustered around her, her leg bleeding and resting on another chair, her face flinched up in pain.694138

But can anybody guess what she said when she saw us? Her very words were, “Are you children mad, have you locked the front door? Left it open as a feast to the robbers or what?” We were too surprised to speak, too relieved that she was ok, too shocked at her typical orders. She was still in her senses, rather she acted more sensible as compared to us. She had to undergo a severe operation later on, she’d broken two of her ribs and a hairline crack was spotted on her left leg. Her left side had loads of bruises.

Nobody knows how, what, why, etc of the accident and its purpose. But seeing her carry herself for the months of bed rest prescribed by the doc, I learnt that a mother is the most indispensible part of a family. She is the one who selflessly works not for herself but for the well being of our family. She used to wake up every morning at 4 to oversee that we go to school properly. She never abandoned her duties as a wife or a mother throughout, gulping down the pain she always was there for us.

A salute to her and all other mothers!

2 thoughts on “Mother !

  1. Aayusi, so sorry to hear of this horrible memory, like a nightmare of your mother falling into the lift, like a pit. So happy that she didn’t hit her head and recuperation was fully passed by now. Thanks for this description which was well written. Hugs, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words! It’s been so long since I last wrote here…missed u and your beautiful comments Robin 😀
      Your new gravatar pic is beautiful !
      Loads of love 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

